Railways,EC promote Voting ahead of LS Elections, 2019

Written By Aditee based on inputs by Shahid

The Election Commission (EC) and the Indian Railway joined hands to promote voter awareness ahead of the Lok Sabha elections 2019. EC and Railways have collaborated to spread awareness messages through four long-distance trains. The trains will bear slogans such as ‘My Vote Matters’. Kerala Express, Himsagar Express, Howrah Express, and Guwahati Express are the chosen trains.

The trains originating and halting at New Delhi Railway Station will bear slogans such as ‘My Vote Matters’. The train will also carry poll-related important contact details such as Voter Helpline number and the National Voters’ Services Portal.

On Friday, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh launched the campaign in the city by flagging off Kerala Express with poll messages. Kerala Express will also be flagged off by State Chief Electoral Officers and District Election Officers of the State and District Headquarters as it moves through different states on its route.

Kerala Express bound for Thiruvananthapuram transverses through eight states in 51 hours and 10 minutes. The Himsagar Express covers 3,714 Kms in 12 states in 71 hours and has 69 stops. The train stops at 29 stations and transverses through major state capitals such as Thiruvananthapuram, Bhopal, Nizamuddin in New Delhi and Jammu Tawi among others. The Howrah Express, which is a daily train covers 2,087 Kms through six states in 37 hours and 35 minutes with 36 stops. Major state capitals covered by the train include Ahmedabad, Raipur and Howrah. The four trains will cover as many as 19 states and have been selected by the EC.

The District Election Officers (DEO) will urge the passengers to click selfies with slogans and upload them to their social media platforms of the commission.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s